Rhythm is a biopharmaceutical company dedicated to changing how rare genetic diseases of obesity are diagnosed and treated.

Disorders of severe obesity may result from genetic variants within the melanocortin-4 receptor (MC4R) pathway, a key pathway responsible for regulating weight, that lead to excessive or insatiable hunger or hyperphagia. Rhythm’s MC4R agonist, setmelanotide, is being evaluated in multiple late-stage clinical studies. The company is also leading efforts to improve patient identification and diagnosis through genetic testing and deepen the community’s understanding of the ongoing impact and burden of disease on patients and caregivers.

Meet the Rhythm leadership team and Board of Directors

David Meeker, MD

Chairman, President
and Chief Executive Officer

Jennifer Chien

Executive Vice President,
Head of North America

Yann Mazabraud

Executive Vice President,
Head of International

Hunter Smith

Chief Financial

Linda Shapiro

Chief Medical

Pam Cramer

Chief Human Resources

Jim Flaherty

Senior Vice President
and General Counsel

Joe Shulman

Senior Vice President,
Technical Operations

Brieana Buckley

Vice President,
Medical Affairs

Joanne E. Totosy de Zepetnek

Vice President, Regulatory
Affairs and Quality

Rhythm Board Of Directors

David Meeker, MD


Dr. David Meeker, a member of Rhythm’s Board of Directors since 2015 and Chairman of the Board since 2017, was appointed President and Chief Executive Officer of the Company in July 2020. Most recently, he served as President and CEO of KSQ Therapeutics for approximately three years.

Ed Mathers

Lead Independent Director

Mr. Mathers has served as a member of our Board of Directors since March 2013 and was named Lead Independent Director in January 2021. He joined NEA as a partner in August 2008 and is focused on biotechnology and specialty pharmaceuticals investments.

Stuart Arbuckle

Mr. Arbuckle has served as a member of our Board of Directors since July 2019. Mr. Arbuckle is currently the Executive Vice President and Chief Commercial Officer at Vertex Pharmaceuticals, where he is responsible for the company’s commercial marketing and supply chain, reimbursement and access, sales, marketing, patient support and market research efforts within the cystic fibrosis franchise and across its portfolio of medicines in development for other serious diseases.

Camille L. Bedrosian, MD

Dr. Bedrosian has served as a member of our Board since December 2020. She serves as EVP and CMO at Ultragenyx Pharmaceutical, a rare disease company with a diverse portfolio of approved therapies and product candidates, where she provides strategic leadership to the clinical development and translational research programs.

Jennifer Good

Ms. Good has served as a member of our Board of Directors since June 2019. She is currently the President and Chief Executive Officer of Trevi Therapeutics, a biopharmaceutical company developing nalbuphine ER to treat serious neurologically mediated conditions, which she co-founded in March 2011.

Christophe R. Jean

Mr. Jean has served as a member of our Board of Directors since April 2015. He is a seasoned global pharmaceutical industry executive, having held leadership positions in strategy, finance, business development, M&A and alliances, and managing international operations.

David McGirr

Mr. McGirr has served as a member of our Board of Directors since November 2015. Mr. McGirr serves as a director of Insmed Inc., a pharmaceutical company devoted to the treatment of rare diseases; Menlo Therapeutics Inc., focused on the development of serlopitant for the treatment of pruritus (itch) associated with various conditions; and X4 Pharmaceuticals Inc., which is developing therapeutics to improve immune cell trafficking to treat rare diseases.

Lynn Tetrault, JD

Ms. Tetrault has served as a member of our Board since December 2020. She is a global business leader with more than 25 years of experience in the health care industry. Ms. Tetrault spent most of her career with Astra Zeneca PLC, serving in a variety of senior roles, including as EVP of Human Resources and Corporate Affairs for seven years.